Recognition for Volunteers

Awards and Recognition

2014 NT Volunteer of the Year Awards
The NT Volunteer of the Year Awards program showcases the extraordinary efforts of Territorians who undertake volunteer work. The annual awards recognise and reward the achievements of volunteers across the Northern Territory and promote the important contribution volunteers make to society. Nominations cover five award level categories and one non-judged certificate level category. For more information visit the NT Volunteer of the Year Awards page.

NT Young Achiever Awards are a range of awards offered for young people. The Awards recognise those young Territorians who have contributed positively to their communities through their achievements.

Northern Territory Landcare Awards
The Northern Territory Landcare Awards are about recognising Territorians who have demonstrated excellence in caring for our land and water resources.

NT Sports Awards
The NT Sports Awards include recognition of sporting achievements from volunteers including administrators and coaches.

Emergency Services
NTES Volunteer Service Medal, to recognise NTES volunteers who have completed in excess of 5 years or more of meritorious service. The dedication and outstanding service of NTES staff and volunteers is recognised by the presentation of a range of awards and medals.

Order of Australia
Appointments to the Order of Australia confer recognition for outstanding achievement and service to the Australian community or humanity at large. Nominations to the General Division of the Order of Australia come directly from the community. The nomination may come from an individual or a group.

Australian of the Year
The Australian of the Year Awards profile leading citizens who are role models in their community. The Awards operates at two levels - state/territory and national. A Territory selection committee selects the Territory award recipient for each category. Territory award recipients then become the national finalists for the awards.